Teachers Are Responsible For Managing and Monitoring Student Learning

When I was reading the pages of “What Teachers Should Know & Be Able To Do” I could really relate to what it was saying because today I taught a lesson with groups that took quite a bit of monitoring. Today’s lesson was building an aquifer. I thought that it was a great way to get students up and active while also showing them first hand something we do not get to see every day. At the beginning of the lesson I planned a question and answer session with the students to jog their memory on aquifers and what was done the day before. For a lot of the questions I just planned to speed through (my thoughts were they would have retained a lot of the information from the day before), but it took much longer than that. I had them talk about some questions with their table groups. The hardest part of the lesson to plan managing for was when certain groups were up at the lab table making their aquifer and other groups were sitting either waiting to make theirs or having just made it. When I planned the lesson I did not have that portion of time in mind. I quickly found out this was a mistake. I should have had some sort of activity for the students to do while they were waiting in that down time. For the remainder of the lessons that day I had the students draw a model of the aquifer that they were building. This helped the students stay focused on the task at hand. Once they were involved in the activity (pouring water into their aquifer as rain and see what happens down below) I walked around to each group to have them explain to me exactly what they thought was happening. I would usually leave each table with a question for them to talk about as a table. At the end of the lesson we had a group discussion on what they thought (they also had some reflection questions to answer individually and with their table) was happening in their model. Their final task was an exit slip which brought in some higher order thinking. They had to come up with a higher order question that they still had about aquifers. I got many of my ideas from observing my current coordinating teacher. She does a very good job of managing her students in groups and making sure learning is constantly happening. She often asks them a question, has them talk about it with their table for about 30-60 seconds and then brings them whole group again and they discuss. I think this is a great way for students that may not know the answer or be slower processors to think about the question and to get some ideas from their peers. One thing I enjoyed about the reading was the thoughts on lesson planning. Even if your plans are something scribbled on a sticky note or long and detailed (which mine will HAVE to be) you need to have clear and articulate goals for your students EVERY DAY.

One thought on “Teachers Are Responsible For Managing and Monitoring Student Learning

  1. Great reflection! I’ve been teaching for 4 years now. On those odd days that I am slack on planning and think, “oh, it’ll be fine,” I truly pay for it and kick myself.
    You were able to see where you needed stronger plans and quickly came up with a way to cope, not everyone can think on their feet like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

